NATO ARW 2011, Latvia

  1. NATO Advanced Research Workshop
  2. Organizing Committees
  3. Scope
  4. Useful Information
  5. Key Speakers

NATO Emerging Security Challenges Division, Bd. Leopold III, B-1110 Brussels, Belgium
+32 2 707 4232

NATO Advanced Research Workshop

Nanodevices and Nanomaterials for Ecological Security
Sponsored by NATO Emerging Security Challenges Division

Yurmala-Riga-Latvia, June 20-23, 2011
Riga - Odessa 2011

NATO-country Director: Yuri Shunin, Professor, Dr.Sc.Habil.
Institute and Address: Department of Natural Sciences and Computer Technologies, Information Systems Management Institute, 91 Ludzas, LV-1003, Riga, Latvia.
+371 67100593; +37167241591;

Partner-country Director: Arnold Kiv, Professor, Dr.Sc.Habil.
Institute and Address: Department of Physical and Mathematical Modelling, South-Ukrainian National Pedagogical University, 26 Staroportofrankovskaya, 26020 Odessa, Ukraine.
+38 048 7384778; +38 048 7325103;

Department of Natural Sciences and Computer Technologies, Information Systems Management Institute, Latvia
ISMA University President, Prof. Roman Dyackon
Department of Physical and Mathematical Modelling, South-Ukrainian National Pedagogical University, Ukraine
SUNPU Rector, Prof. Alexey Chebykin

International Organizing Committee
(A) Yuri Shunin Vice-Rector, Professor of Department of Natural Sciences and Computer Technologies, Information Systems Management Institute
(B) Arnold Kiv Head of Department of Physical and Mathematical Modelling, South-Ukrainian National Pedagogical University
(C) Gary Hunter Senior Electronics Engineer, Sensor and Electronics Branch (NASA Glenn Research Center)
(D) Yakov Roizin Tower-Jazz, Israel
(E) Calogero Pace Professor of Electronics, University of Calabria
Local Organizing Committee
(A) Prof. Roman Dyackon President of Information Systems Management Institute
(B) Prof. Victor Gopeyenko Vice-Rector for Scientific Issues, Information Systems Management Institute
(C) Dr. Sintiya Bernava Expert on the International Relations and Management, Latvian parliament group of interparliamentary relations
(D) Dr. Tamara Lobanova-Shunina Editor of ARW Scientific Publications, Information Systems Management Institute
(E) MSc Natalie Burlutskaya ARW secretary, Information Systems Management Institute

The main part of the program is concerned with the application of nanomaterials for the creation of novel nanodevices and sensor systems that are necessary for prevention of technogenic catastrophes and terrorist attacks. Multifunctional applications of these nanodevices will be thoroughly considered in key lectures. The ARW participants will discuss the relevant scientific, technological and economic problems including fundamental problems of organic-inorganic hybrids improvements and their applications in the creation of novel nanodevices. The ARW participants will discuss innovative approaches not only in the search for new combinations of organic and inorganic compounds, but also in the advanced engineering of materials with bioelectronic design principles. The innovative approaches to the creation of biosensors for detecting pathogen microorganisms with radically lowered measurements time and detection limits will also be a subject of key lectures.

Lectures devoted to the problems of radiation modification of nanomaterials, on the one hand, and to the defence against the radiation danger, on the other hand, are included into the program.

General problems concerning further advancement of nanotechnologies will be considered. Unexpected obstacles in the creation of novel nanodevices that have been recently revealed will be a subject of intensive discussions among qualified experts from different countries. In particular, the problem concerns the nature of electronic noise in deeply scaled nanodevices. This problem is closely linked with the creation of the efficient lower-powered devices, including new sensor systems. A critical factor that puts on the further progress in nanotechnologies is the slowing speed of signal propagation within the chip. New approaches to the creation of nanomaterials that can ensure progress in the solution of chip interconnect problem will be presented by the leading laboratories.

Novel nanodevices based on a new direction of electronics – “track electronics” – will be considered from the point of view of the creation of principally new generation of electronic systems. All the aforementioned innovations will be considered in the light of the creation of novel nanodevices and electronic systems for special purposes of ecological security.

Workshop language
The working language of the Workshop is English.

The weather in Riga and in the vicinity is rather mild, moderate and sometimes excellent at this season of year with day temperatures of about 20-22 °C, but the rain may be also expected.

Publication of ProceedingsProceedings will be published in Springer Science and Business Media - NATO Science for Peace and Security Series – B: Physics and Biophysics. All papers must be presented to the Organizing Committee during the registration at the beginning of the Workshop. Instructions for preparation of papers will be sent to participants in the near future. All papers will be reviewed. One free copy of the publication will be distributed to each author-participant.

Medical insurance
NATO does not take out any health or accident insurance. Such insurance is an individual responsibility.

1. Dr. Gary Hunter NASA Glenn Research Center, USA
2. Prof. Yuri Gogotsi Drexel University, USA
3. Prof. Giorgio Sberveglieri University of Brescia, Italy
4. Prof. Calogero Pace Calabria University, Italy
5. Dr. Stefano Bellucci INFN - Laboratori Nazionali di Frascati, Rome, Italy
6. Dr. Dietmar Fink Berlin Helmholtz-Center für Materials and Energy, Germany
7. Prof. Eiichi Kondoh University of Yamanashi, Japan
8. Prof. Vyacheslav Golovanov South-Ukrainian National University, Ukraine
9. Prof. Yakov Roizin TowerJazz, Israel
10. Prof. David Fuks Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel
11. Dr. Mikhail Baklanov IMEC-Interuniversity MicroElectronics Center, Belgium
12. Prof. Joan Morante University of Barcelona, Spain
13. Dr. Amita Chandra University of Delhi, India
14. Prof. Robert Evarestov Sankt-Petersburg State University, Russia
15. Prof. Sergey Maksimenko Institute of Nuclear Problems of Belarus University, Belarus